Chairman’s Address

2019 – The Chairman in Action

It’s here again! when the hard working Carnival Committee come out of the dark meeting rooms to bring to the locality the 7th year with 10 days of entertainment with lots of free family events. This year we start the 10 days of events with the Carnival Opening Event  where we will have lots of Carnival entertainment for all ages along  the Quays. This is followed during the weekend by a range of world class street entertainment, Kids fun days, Illuminated Water Jet Pack Display, Fireworks display, Live Music on the streets and the ever competitive raft race. During the week we will have a very popular Street Swing Band on Moonriver, the
wonderful Leitrim Male Choir in the Bush Hotel, Liam O’Maonlai in St George Church and the
ever enjoyable Pig Race night, which has been moved to the Thursday nigh. The final weekend starts with the amazing Taste of Carrick, where the local restaurants and businesses never
fail to deliver an excellent culinary event for all of us to enjoy, there will be a drone display, vintage car display, street entertainment, a Carnival Comedy Night with the hilarious Fred Cooke and Kevin McGahern in the Bush Hotel and finishing with a Street Fest in Market Yard. What a line up!!

All the above is not of course possible without the incredibly hard working committee who
have given up many, many hours of their own time to make this Carnival such a success every
year. Also a huge “Thank you” to Leitrim County Council, An Garda Siochana, Failte Ireland,
Waterways Ireland, Eirgrid and the Chamber of Commerce – all are ever supportive of the Carnival and assist in many ways before, during and after the events.

The entire Carnival would not be possible without the support of all of the businesses and volunteers who provide sponsorship and support, either financial or otherwise, to the Carnival year after year – this would not be possible without you all and is a testimony to the local support
provided to local events. Many thanks to you all. I believe there is something for everyone in the 10 day programme of events, I hope you all enjoy the festivities and many thanks for continuing to support the Carnival every year. Without you it would not be a success.

Committee Members: Anna Nester, Brendan Dee (Chairman), Brian Carroll, Colm
Keane (PRO), Damien Duignan, Davinia McManus, Enda McHugh, Eugene Matthews,
Jo Sachs-Eldridge (Secretary), Mo Robertson, Pat Maye, Paul Duignan, Ray Gannon, Rory
O’Connor, Sarah Beckett, Sharon Garland, Stephen McManus, Tim Sachs-Eldridge, Thomas Glancy.

Always in our thoughts – Eamonn McGirl

Eamonn McGirl
Always with us, Eamonn McGirl